What Is Halal Meat?

by Meat Abolition
0 Comment

Halal is a broad concept rooted in the Islamic religion. The term “ halal ” implies that certain acts or practices are permissible for a Muslim. For non-Muslims, Halal is mostly about acceptable meat to Muslims. Continue to read this Meat Lifestyle abolition article as this religious concept will be discussed. This is especially as it pertains to allowed and prohibited meat and foods in Islam.

When Can Meat Be Considered Halal for Muslims?

Meat and meat products can be considered halal ( lawful ) when:

The Welfare of the Animal Is Taken Seriously When Alive

The type of animal and / or the method of killing animals is not only what makes for halal or haram meat. The way the animal is treated before it is slaughtered for meat is equally important.

The animal has to be treated right. It should not be denied food, clean water, space to roam about, and access to proper ventilation. Slaughtering or consumption of meat or food from animals that do not enjoy these is haram and not halal.

It Is the Right Kind of Animal

When Can Meat Be Considered Halal for Muslims?

Muslims are not allowed by ( Islamic ) law to eat certain kinds of meat. Meat from reptiles and Pork meat are high on the list of such meat and food. Such is haram. Converssey, examples of halal animals include:

  • Beef
  • Venison
  • Lamb
  • Goat
  • Fish
  • Turkey
  • Chicken
  • Shellfish
  • Bison

Further, the part of the slaught animal body consumed also matters as eating certain body parts is not allowed. The genital and blood-flowing areas ( for male and female animals ) are examples.

The Slaughter Is Carried Out Properly by a Muslim

Halal meat is not just for meeting dietary requirements. It has a religious undertone. This is why the animal has to be killed by a Muslim that understands and practices the Islamic requirements. Some of the requirements include:

  • Praying before the slaughter of the animal – The person must pray in Allah’s ( God’s ) name and certain portions of the Quran will be recited
  • Proper Slaughter of the Animal – The animal has to be slaughtered alive using a knife that will cut through the throat. As against conventional practice, the animal should not be stunned. In cases where stunning is used, it should be mild enough to keep the animal alive while it is slaughtered. Furthermore, the killing should be one at a time in cases where more than one animal is killed. Animals should also not witness the killing of other animals
  • Proper Preparation – The meat should not be prepared using animal fat or alcohol

All these conditions have to be met before the meat can be considered halal. There are even Islamic bodies that issue halal certification to corporations that sell meat and foods made from meat. This is to be certain that it is lawful for Muslims to consume their products.

Halal or haram meat

Religion and Food

Religious concepts such as Halal meat are not only exclusive to Muslims. For example, Jewish people also have a similar approach to meat and dietary framework and it is known as Kosher. Even Catholics have their peculiarities. For instance, devouts are not supposed to eat meat on Ash Wednesday, Good Friday, and other Fridays during Lent.

Articles similaires

4.5/5 - (2 votes)

Leave a Comment